Mundus Vini Best Australian Producer of the Year ... again!

Mundus Vini Best Australian Producer of the Year ... again!

Kilikanoon is proud to announce our overwhelming success at the Mundus Vini Grand International Wine Awards. We have again been awarded Mundus Vini Best Australian Producer 2020. This is the fourth year in a row that we have been awarded this prestigious award.

Kilikanoon was also awarded 2 Grand Gold Medals, 13 Gold Medals & 4 Silver Medals out of the 20 wines submitted!

The awards do not stop there - the 2016 Oracle Shiraz was awarded the ‘Best of Show - Australian Red’ extending the outstanding pedigree of the Oracle Shiraz.

The Oracle has been awarded ‘Best Shiraz in the World’ three times in 10 years, with now adding the impressive award of ‘Best Red Wine Australia’ is an unprecedented accomplishment!

Mundus Vini was founded by Meininger Verlag 18 years ago and has been one of the most important wine competitions in the world. The 11,000 wines that are submitted every year are clear proof of the importance this competition has now achieved in Germany and all over the world.

Mundus Vini is the wine show associated with Prowein, the world’s most important wine fair, held in Dusseldorf in March each year.  As always, the judging panel was comprised of 268 experts from 54 countries with 40% being female. The panel included a range of excellent sommeliers, recognized wine specialist retailers, wine journalists and scientists.

Gold medals are only awarded to the best rated wines within a group, which means Kilikanoon consistently impressed the tasting panels with masterfully composed cuvees.

Being awarded ‘Best Australian Producer’ four years in a row highlights Kilikanoon’s dedication and uncompromising commitment to quality and style that has made the brand so successful.

It is also worthy to note that 12 of our gold medal wines were awarded to Shiraz, Grenache, Cabernet Sauvignon, and GSM wines confirming,  its reputation as the best producer of Australia’s best varieties.

A list of some of our Gold Medal winning wines is below:


  • 2015 Attunga 1865 Shiraz
  • 2016 Oracle Shiraz. Also awarded Grand Gold, & ‘Best in Show Australian Red’)
  • 2016 Covenant Shiraz
  • 2018 Killerman’s Run Shiraz

Cabernet Sauvignon


  • 2015 Kelly 1932 Grenache
  • 2015 Duke Reserve Grenache                
  • 2016 Duke Reserve Grenache     
  • 2016 Prodigal Grenache           

Grenache Shiraz Mataro

Shiraz Cabernet

  • 2018 Morrison’s Shiraz Cabernet
Back to blog